Daily Reflections: 15 August 2015

First Reading: Rv:19a.12:1-6a,10ab

Second Reading: 1Cr 15:20-27

Gospel: Lk 1:39-56

Getting Back on Track

I just got out of the hospital, and I have been focused on healing these past few days that I have failed to read the daily Scripture and do my personal prayer time.

My shepherd told me at the start of this week not to take it hard if I miss out on doing these two, and that it only proves that I am still human. Still, for someone who is on a journey of redemption and who has become highly conscious and highly aware of how his faith has helped (and continuously helping) him, I felt that this is a setback.

The last few days have been long. Lying down in the hospital bed, wondering if I would still be able to live the way I want to, struggling with how to push myself if my body doesn’t allow it.

All throughout my ordeal, I was more focused on my future than on my faith. And most people would think this is a perfectly normal mindset, considering what happened to me.

As I’m writing this, I realized that part of faith is the struggle.  As my shepherd said, I am still human, and humans are still relational beings. I still have family. I still have friends. And if I cannot pray hard enough, they will pray hard for me.

I have been blessed to have friends who prayed for me and who took time to visit me.

I have been blessed to be a part of a community that prayed for me even if most of them did not know me personally.

I have been blessed to have a family who is willing to make sacrifices to guarantee my safety.

To see the faces of the people who visited me, and the messages of well-wishing from more people, they gave me strength while I was lying on that bed.

And that’s what I think God is telling me today. Faith is a struggle that I should not have to work through on my own. I have my family, my friends, and my community. Just as I have faith in Him, I should also have faith in them. And whenever I feel my faith is wavering, or if I can’t express it because I have other concerns on my mind, the people around me will lift me up and carry me through it.

“For he who is great has done great things for me, and holy is his name. And his mercy is from generation to generations for those who fear him.

He has take up his servant Israel, mindful of his mercy, just as he spoke to our fathers: to Abraham and to his offspring forever (Lk 1:49-50,54-55)”

One thought on “Daily Reflections: 15 August 2015

Leave a Reply

